Local Musicians Media

Local Regional and National band coverage

Band News

THE THE Share New Single “This Is The Night” Taken From ‘The Comeback Special’ Album, Film & Book Out 10/29

THE THE, one of the most intriguing bands ever to emerge from England, have shared “This Is The Night,” the latest single from their upcoming album THE COMEBACK SPECIAL. Listen to the track here, now available at all streaming and download services. The album, due out October 29 in multiple audio as well as video formats, documents their triumphant and sold-out Royal Albert Hall concert in 2018 in London.
“This Is The Night” was originally featured on THE THE’s much-acclaimed (and fourth album) Dusk in 1993. This live version of the song, with its haunting lyrics, urgent vocals and searing guitar lines, is especially potent.
The highlight of this multi-format release is an exquisitely designed 136-page art book, which tells the whole story behind THE COMEBACK SPECIAL with hundreds of behind-the-scenes photos, film stills, contributions and stories, as well as 6 discs including exclusive audio content, plus director Tim Pope’s film of the concert on both Blu-ray and DVD.
As another highlight of the new release, THE THE also recently launched a variety of new exclusive merch items and bundles on the official album webstore: https://thethe.tmstor.es/
For a brand-new series of four exclusive THE THE prints, the band has teamed up with London’s Atom Gallery. Mark Perronet (print maker and co-owner of the gallery) had previously collaborated with Andy Dog, Matt Johnson’s late brother and designer of many of the group’s early sleeves. Utilising the old analogue technique of screenprinting, visual elements of The Comeback Special tour have been combined to create these vivid new designs. Each of these four new posters are hand-numbered, embossed with the THE THE logo and signed by Matt Johnson
The track listing of the live performance across all formats is as follows:
1.   Global Eyes
2.   Sweet Bird Of Truth
3.   Flesh & Bones
4.   Heartland
5.   The Beat(en) Generation
6.   Armageddon Days (are here again)
7.   A Long Hard Lazy Apprenticeship
8.   We Can’t Stop What’s Coming
9.   Phantom Walls
10. Love Is Stronger Than Death
11. Dogs Of Lust
12. Helpline Operator
13. This Is The Night
14. This Is The Day
15. Soul Catcher
16. Bugle Boy
17. Beyond Love
18. Slow Emotion Replay
19. (Like a) Sun Rising Thru My Garden
20. Infected
21. I’ve Been Waiting For Tomorrow (all of my life)
22. True Happiness (this way lies)
23. Uncertain Smile
24. Lonely Planet
The Royal Albert Hall concert was the first of a trio of London shows during The Comeback Special tour—the others taking place at Brixton Academy and The Troxy—all of which sold out within minutes of going on sale.
Performing live for the first time in 16 years with a headline appearance at Denmark’s Heartland Festival a few days before the Royal Albert Hall concert, the rejuvenated THE THE, which featured previous members James Eller on bass, DC Collard on keyboards and Earl Harvin on drums and new member Barrie Cadogan on guitar alongside Matt Johnson, would go on to play sold-out shows and make festival headline appearances across the globe throughout 2018.

“Part comeback, part requiem, all extraordinary”
– James Hall, The Telegraph (UK)

“Johnson’s great achievement is to have made a body of work that is completely original, yet flows smoothly into the slipstream of accessible, socially conscious alternative rock.”
– Will Hodgkinson, The Times (UK)
“Johnson retains a gravel-voiced gravitas, and his band are taut and kinetic on barbed missiles such as ‘Armageddon Days (are here again)’… THE THE really shouldn’t leave it 16 years until their next tour.”
– Ian Gittins, The Guardian (UK)
“THE THE sound very much like a band revitalized… Johnson may not have sung publicly for years, but there’s little doubt he’s been practising his scales in private.”
– Jeremy Allen, The Independent (UK)
www.thethe.com    www.ear-music.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *