Local Musicians Media

Local Regional and National band coverage

Band News

GRIDFAILURE and S.C.R.A.M. To Release Split EP In August; New Tracks And Preorders Posted

tream new GRIDFAILURE and S.C.R.A.M. tracks HERE and HERE.
New York-based GRIDFAILURE and California-based S.C.R.A.M. present a new split EP for independent release through Bandcamp in August. With the cover art, track listing, and more, the artists have each posted a new track from the cooperative record.
The S.C.R.A.M. portion of this split is a journey from the exterior to the interior, based around the event of a catastrophic nuclear reactor meltdown. It starts with a hurried trek through the safety of the outer perimeter, continues through the concrete shroud around a burning reactor, amid the groans of a heaving pressure vessel and cascading chain reactions. The final track, “The Loneliness Of Cesium 137,” takes us right to the elemental level, to the creation of a new isotope. That track, and the split, ends with a primal roar – the cataclysmic scream of birth, and the flailing restlessness of something unseen, a consciousness convulsing beyond the barrier of the material, its lonely, lashing spirit constrained by atomic structure and bellowing to be free. Tiwari supplies and handles vocals, sequencer, synthesizers, guitars, live drums, and field recordings, heavily shaped with a bizarre and unique “noise box” built by Ash from Ormus Electronics, with additional vocals provided by Joelle Garson.
GRIDFAILURE’s four new songs on the split burst from between the tense atmospheres of the S.C.R.A.M. tracks, offsetting the tension with a barrage of explosive post-industrial, apocalyptic annihilation. Created within a matrix of intense pedalboard arrangements and effects, reverberating, lo-fi percussion is shrouded in a phosphorus fog of bass, guitars, synth, field recordings, and more, with a vortex of multiple vocal tracks piercing through with confrontational dissolution. Lyrically fueled by societal disintegration, environmental collapse, and existential mental crises, once again, GRIDFAILURE evades accessibility and embraces techniques to deliver the utmost discomforting and visceral listening experience possible.
The GRIDFAILURE material was written, performed, recorded, and mixed by David Brenner at The Compound in Valley Cottage, New York, and the S.C.R.A.M. material written, performed, recorded, and mixed by Pranjal Tiwari at The Sarcophagus in Oakland, California, and all tracks were mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter Mastering in Nashville, Tennessee (Kool Keith, Many Blessings, Thetan). The cover was created with photography by Tiwari and Brenner, manipulated/designed by Brenner.
Stream S.C.R.A.M.’s “Reactor Pressure Vessel” and GRIDFAILURE’s “Special Dead” where preorders are live at Bandcamp HERE and HERE.
GRIDFAILURE/S.C.R.A.M. will see digital release through Bandcamp on Friday the 13th of August. Watch for additional audio and video assets from the record to be issued shortly.
GRIDFAILURE / S.C.R.A.M. Split Track Listing:
1. S.C.R.A.M. Hastily Improvised Exclusion Zone
2. GRIDFAILURE Systemwide Anomaly
3. S.C.R.A.M. A Shroud Around The Core
4. GRIDFAILURE Basophophia
5. S.C.R.A.M. Reactor Pressure Vessel
6. GRIDFAILURE Special Dead
7. S.C.R.A.M. Oxidation Of Zirconium With Steam 
8. GRIDFAILURE Howling Everyday Existence
9. S.C.R.A.M. The Loneliness Of Cesium 137
GRIDFAILURE is the unpredictable and confrontational audiovisual project David Brenner, yielding dense, tension-filled output, with elements of dark ambient and dark hardcore, infused with jazz, world music, folk, harsh noise, electronica, punk, and more. Operating solo or with a cast of collaborators on record and on stage since its 2016 inception, the project has amassed dozens of independent releases, including collaborations with Mac Gollehon, Rack, Megalophobe, Walking Bombs, Christian Molenaar, and others, and splits with Chrome Waves, Never Presence Forever, and others preceding the split with S.C.R.A.M.. While GRIDFAILURE regularly releases material independently and through Nefarious Industries, the project is confirmed to release new records through Anti-Corporate Music as well as Today Is The Day founder Steve Austin’s relaunched SuperNova Records in the months ahead.
S.C.R.A.M. (Safety Control Rod Axe Man) is the solo project of Oakland, California-based musician Pranjal Tiwari. Known for his work with the long-running cult doom metal band Cardinal Wyrm, with this project, Tiwari utilizes this project to create cinematic, experimental, ambient/electronic and heavily instrumental passages. Utilizing tension and negative space to create immersive auras, he has released an EP (Sellafield Mox) and a full-length (America, The Ritual) as S.C.R.A.M. prior to this split with GRIDFAILURE. Additional new material is in the works for the months ahead.
Review copies of the GRIDFAILURE / S.C.R.A.M. split are now available. For all coverage requests contact dave@earsplitcompound.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *